53' Model A mounting brackets for Woods 59

swiggins

New User
Thanks in advance to any information provided. I recently purchased a 53' Farmall Model A and will be restoring. I also found a Woods 59 belly mower with mounting brackets (including drawbar / pulleys) for a good price that is for a Farmall Cub. My question is if this will also mount to my Model A. I have read that the deck itself will work for any model and the only difference is the mounting brackets. If the brackets will not work, are the correct ones available and what is the difference?

As you may tell, I am new to old tractors but hope to learn a lot with my new purchase.

The woods mounting brackets for the A and cub are not the same. They are so different that modification would be out of the question. You would have to check with a woods dealer to find if the brackets are available. I assume you have a super A as you said it is a 53 model. If the brackets are available from woods you will be shocked when you see the price. Check with Burch store on EBay. He likely has the used parts you need.

I am not sure if you can do that swap with a deck for a cub? The decks for the cub have a pipe going to the rear mounting bracket which I think is only on the cubs? But am not totally familiar with how the A Farmall decks are mounted. But almost guarantee you won't be able to swap easily. Most decks are standard production and the difference is in the mounting brackets and hardware. The cub is a right hand discharge {yellow deck} and the L59s {white deck} are lefties. I called a tech from Woods or who ever owns them and he was very helpful. Highly recommend you research well before you start buying stuff. Not impossible to learn but you can educate yourself and then buy or buy now and educate yourself later. One way is much cheaper in the long run and less embarrassing. Don't ask me how I came to this conclusion. Regards, John.