Carb won't stop dripping. What am I missing??

1949 8N, with original carb. I cannot get the darned thing to stop dripping.

I'm not a newbie. I've had this 8N, and another besides, for more than 17 years. This particular 8n can be finicky but has always run well. Over the last 16+ years I have read literally thousands of posts on this site. Thousands.

First thing I did when I got it (DOA, out of a field) was rebuild the carb, per instructions from Dell, Bruce, Bob, Zane, Hobo, and others smart guys on this site. I've been in and out of it many times to clean it, and occasionally replaced parts, but not often.

Last fall it started dripping. Pulled the carb, and the float had a pinhole in hole in it. Replaced it, and nothing else. Still dripped. Tried another old float. Dripped. I didn't mess with it when it was cold but this spring I've been trying to fix it again and it is still dripping. It happens so fast after I turn the fuel on I don't even have time to turn it over before there's gas on the floor.

At this point I have had it off and on a half dozen times. I have:

Tried two new needles from kits from Asia, and a supposed "Tisco" needle and seat, bought at a ridiculous price from a seller who implied it was USA-made, (and I must say it looks EXACTLY like the ones from the cheapie Asian kits, they even measure exactly the same with a mike).

When I installed the needles, I was sure to give each a little twist, but not too hard, to be sure they were seating, then let the installed float drop a few times to make sure the needle was falling freely and it seemed to be.

Even though the old seat looked fine I put in the new one from the Tisco set, as well as the little ring gasket beneath. Made sure it was, as Dell used to say, "honked down" good and tight.