Chevy 350 alternator question

chevt73

New User
Chevy 350 engine question 3 wire alternator? I have a 100 Amp Powermaster alternator. My car is setup with dual fans from a Ford Focus. One fan is on all the time, the other is set to come on when the A/C is on (I am going to change that to a temperature controled setup). Both fans run thru seperate relays. Today I noticed that when the second fan comes on the Ammeter goes to a 15 amp discharge. Without it on the gauge is normal. No change when the headlights are on. Checked the voltage at the battery. One fan on it was 13.6, when the second fan came on the voltage dropped to 12.5. Which says to me no charge. I also noticed the alternator was whinning with a beraing like noise. Verified it to be the alternator by taking the belt off, no noise with the belt off. Also with the car in vent mode and blower motor running no effect on the Ammeter. What do you guys think?

Sounds like the motor on the second fan is putting too much load on the alternator. If you look on the Flex-a-lite web site at their fans some of them can draw upwards of 10 amps all the way to nearly 30 amps. If you've got a typical automotive alternator it's probably only putting out 35 to 40 amps. Most blower fans don't draw that many amps so you wouldn't see a big difference with just one cooling fan running, the heater blower and any other small accessories. Even headlights don't typically draw a huge amount in relation to a cooling fan. So with both fans running, along with any other normal draw, it's probably close to maxing out the alternators output. That would account for the low voltage with everything running.