Class Project: Need some pointers

Shopteacher

New User
Hey guys, I am a high school shop teacher in Iowa. This year I started teaching a new class called introduction to industrial mechanics. I am trying to teach the kids how to maintain and rebuild equipment. I grew up the son of a farmer and tractors have always been a part of my upbringing. For this class, we are going to restore a 1941 Farmall M. Growing up, we had red tractors on the farm. I know some general maintenance on them, but Im sure some of you guys on here are far more knowledgeable than I am. When I was in high school, I restored a 1951 John Deere B. I used this forum all the time to get advice from people. I work at a school, and buying supplies is next to impossible, and takes forever. I am in the process of getting a manual but need to get some vendors in our schools business system. I am going to buy a manual, but in the meantime I was hoping you guys could help me with a few questions.

Right now, the engine is stuck. We are goin to rebuild the engine and had a couple questions on it. I believe these engines are sleeved. I know when I worked on my super c pulling tractor, it had sleeves in it. How do you guys recommend getting them out? I thought I would make something on our lathe that is just undersize of the cylinder bore and use a shop press to get them out. I remember my dad overhauling his 756 and I thought he might have welded a small bead down them and it shrank enough where they came right out, but I may be misremembering that. When you order a rebuild kit, do you press in the new sleeves and you are ready to go? Or does each cylinder need to be machines to fit each specific piston? Thats how it was on my JD.