eagle hitch plows

kenbob

I still hope to find a 2 bottom eagle hitch plow in the future. I am no expert on plows or plowing. We had a 3-16 Case pull type on the farm and dad did most of the plowing while I did the milking. I see these plows with a turnbuckle type brace and some with hydraulic rams. What is the purpose of the turnbuckle. Does the hydraulic cylinder to make it bite into the ground better? I have a Ford plow for my VAC and it seems the geometry is quite a bit different. I always have trouble with the rear bottom going in deep enough, even though I have it set per the manual and have the middle arm short so the points bite.
Thanks for any info. Something to discuss while some of us are cooped up.

The hydraulic adjust option for the plow allowed for the operator to change the angle of the plow on-the-go. This let the operator increase the angle of penetration when lowering the plow into the ground for better penetration as well as helped the operator regulate depth since the Eagle Hitch did not utilize depth control like the Ford and Ferguson. The depth of the plow was supposed to be regulated by the angle of the plows points and as the plow was lowered in its arc it would at some point (in relation to the angle of the the share points) reach an even travel compared to it's plowing depth. It seems like one of those things where you would need to plow ALOT with that setup to have a good understanding of how your plow is plowing.

For plows without this option hydraulic toplinks come in handy. It achieves the same kind of results. I use a hydraulic toplink on my MRB plow since it does not have the optional factory hydraulic control (good luck trying to find one of THOSE nowadays).

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/M6OoD7qSYsg" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

cvphoto10760.jpg

cvphoto10761.jpg