Farmall A clutch help

Cwhite52

New User
Hello All, I got a farmall A 1941. I noticed when i bought the tractor the clutch has no free play and the peddle only moves about half of what the peddle travel should be. Also if you have the peddle pushed down and the tractor is in gear every couple of seconds the tractor will jump like the clutch is engaging . I know i need to adjust the linkage to add free play , but has anyone ever had the jumping problem. And if so is it time for a new clutch and T/o bearing. Thanks in advance for the help. I ordered a manual for the tractor it comes tomorrow. I am very new to classic tractors so i appreciatte the help

Okay i will adjust the pedal to have some free play and see if that will fix it. I am pretty sure its going to need a new clutch assembly. It didnt like to shift into anything but 1st gear. And i had to almost shut the tractor off to get the PTO lever to engage. Thanks for the insight.

you have oil on the clutch disc, , that will always cause the clutch to be jumpy. just like when you have a leaking rear wheel seal on a vehicle, oil gets on the brake linings and that causes the wheel to skid or grab first.

Thin/old transmission fluid will cause the transmission to turn when it shouldn't so try changing that. Also, if you push the shifting lever forward of reverse and hold it there for a few seconds it will stop the gears and you can shift or engage the PTO.

Dave

I am planning on changing the oil in the transmission tomorrow. I wanted to wait for the Shop manual so i dont mess it up. Thanks for the reply

I agree with Old, it could be the pilot bushing in the flywheel that got clutch dust in it. Unfortunately there is no method to lube the pilot bushing.
Back in the 1950s we had a SC with a Henderson loader on it and about every 2 years we had to split it, clean and lube the pilot bushing.
Never did replace the clutch even though it was used a lot as a loader tractor.