Farmall M electronic ignition

(quoted from post at 08:01:24 03/24/23) Hello

I am new to Farmall and tractors in general so I am learning.

Just purchased a 1946 M and it has a 12 volts and 6 volts. I would like to move to electronic ignition but the 6 volt ignition is throwing me off.

The tractor has a 12v battery, 1 wire alternator, starter, and lights, but it seems to have a 6 volt ignition system. There is a pull down resistor that takes around 12 volts in and brings it down to around 7 volts and then that runs directly to the coil. I called a tractor place to get parts and they needed to know if I have the stock setup or Delco ignition setup. I have been unable to find out which one I have.

I want to just go 12 volts all around.
mvphoto103744.jpg

mvphoto103745.jpg

(quoted from post at 08:01:24 03/24/23) Hello

I am new to Farmall and tractors in general so I am learning.

Just purchased a 1946 M and it has a 12 volts and 6 volts. I would like to move to electronic ignition but the 6 volt ignition is throwing me off.

The tractor has a 12v battery, 1 wire alternator, starter, and lights, but it seems to have a 6 volt ignition system. There is a pull down resistor that takes around 12 volts in and brings it down to around 7 volts and then that runs directly to the coil. I called a tractor place to get parts and they needed to know if I have the stock setup or Delco ignition setup. I have been unable to find out which one I have.

I want to just go 12 volts all around.
mvphoto103744.jpg

mvphoto103745.jpg

After looking at your last two pictures you have a resistor from what it looks like a Chrysler electronic ignition system. First take that off and throw it as far as you can!!!!!!