Fast hitch Plow?

TimWafer

https://youtu.be/P8yeNojDro8

I have the 214 roll over plow you can see in the video link above. It is being pulled with my 656 Hydro.
I recently acquired a 706 with a fasthitch I want to pull it with instead. I have some 3 point conversion prongs I planned on using along with a top link.
However I was just pondering the possibility of converting the plow to a fast hitch hookup. I know they were made that way. What are the advantages or disadvantages in a fast hitch plow vs 3-point other that the obvious hookup procedure?

Hi,well i am no expert on hitchs', but the only advantage to a two point, as i see it,would be ease of hook-up! I do own a 3x16, 2point hitch,The only time i use it is at plow day,works good, leaves a sharp straight furrow1

Three point adapter prongs in a fast hitch
is usually the way to go. The top link
mount is easily obtained from a junkyard
donor with 3 point. The downside is the
operation angles. An adapted fast hitch
may not lift high enough. A more offset
adapter tong may help but then you might
lose the needed depth. It may work just
fine for you, though. Tongs and top link
parts are cheap enough to try easily. To
change a fast hitch to 3 point requires a
donor tractor and all its parts. There are
lots of pieces to make it work correctly.
I believe you need to change the torsion
bar through the center housing. I don't
remember that detail clearly. At this
point any internal wear points in the lift
housing should be inspected and renewed so
all adjustments can be correct.

Good luck.

Karl f

I have owned a 314(3x14) for over 40 years. Yes you can put adapters on the tractor and pull a 3 bottom. It will work fine. Not perfect,but adequet.Best bet is to find a set of prongs for the
plow,or convert the tractor to 3 point.However,you should 'reclock' the rockshaft arms to the rockshaft. It will be marked 2 point ot three point with coresponding arrowsJus remove the 5/8 bolt