Ford 8n Starter problem

Tinkerer60

New User
Okay, I have been working on my 8n for about 5 months. While fixing one thing I usually end up needing to repair something else. It stated with the distributor gear pin shearing off. After replacing everything electrical correlating with starting I finally achieved correct spark. Then needed to replace starter. Starter turned over once engine fired starter bendix shattered. I was told I had turned the Bendix when installing the starter and therefore it would not disengage. Thus I had to purchase a new starter as I could not "see" how to replace bendix. Carburetor was leaking when I placed new fuel in the 8n. Rebuilt carburetor, problem solved. Turned the engine over a few times. Engine fired and ran for awhile. Distributor firing order was off. Repositioned distributor. Went to start tractor . 8n turned over then was freewheeling. Sounded like Bendix was damaged again. Before I could go to the shed and look for the stuff I needed to make gunpowder. I remembered this forum. I was extremely careful not to turn the Bendix when I installed it. Can anyone tell this shade tree grease monkey what the blazes I'm doing wrong? I've been working on on trucks and cars and engines since I was tall enough ( with a chair ) to reach under a hood. I'm 60 now. I cannot even find a tractor repairman that will even look at the 8n. Can't afford a new or used tractor. The 8n was running perfectly when this started. ..... Help please? :x

I would try removing the starter, carefully look over all the flywheel gear teeth. look on the BACK side, as that's where the starter gear enters. look for broken, rolled over teeth. it will have natural wear from the years, of course. its prob. 12v by now, so any engine ''kick back'' can shear things.