TomClark

New User
Hello this is my first time posting as I just joined today.
I have a 1967 International B414 Diesel
It needs new glow plugs which I have bought as well I purchased a new dash indicator which is like another glow plug.
Because the glow plugs use 0.9 volts each and the dash indicator uses about the same I imagine ? So all total is about 5 or 6 volts being used.
My Question- do I need another resistor between the dash glow plug and glow plugs on the motor in order to absorb some of the voltage ?
The person I bought the tractor from put new glow plugs in many years ago and he said they burnt out the first time he used them.
I see he wired them direct from battery to a push button then directly to the glow plugs without even having a dash indicator in place, so thats easy to see why those ones burnt out quickly.

(quoted from post at 19:14:10 02/03/22) Hello this is my first time posting as I just joined today.
I have a 1967 International B414 Diesel
It needs new glow plugs which I have bought as well I purchased a new dash indicator which is like another glow plug.
Because the glow plugs use 0.9 volts each and the dash indicator uses about the same I imagine ? So all total is about 5 or 6 volts being used.
My Question- do I need another resistor between the dash glow plug and glow plugs on the motor in order to absorb some of the voltage ?
The person I bought the tractor from put new glow plugs in many years ago and he said they burnt out the first time he used them.
I see he wired them direct from battery to a push button then directly to the glow plugs without even having a dash indicator in place, so thats easy to see why those ones burnt out quickly.

As you state, the 4 GP's AND the indicator need to be in series.

The fact that you engage the GP's for a limited period of time ('til the indicator glows) explains why the voltage rating of the GP's seems so low.