Is a Ford 172 the same as 192

TinCan

I am in need of a new cam, for a Ford 4000, with a diesel 172. They do not sell, new, or reground cams, for the diesel.

I have been trying to find out over on the "Ford" side, and have had no luck. I was told to ask you guy's in the tractor pullers.

So I have to but a used diesel cam, which is a "310377" with "diesel" stamped on it. I have a someone with a cam for a industrial 192 diesel, that I can buy. But I can not find out if they are the same engines Or cam.

Is there anyone here that can tell me, yes, or no.

Thanks, Pat

I dont know where you looked for a new camshaft but one of my suppliers shows new one in stock for 172 4 cyl diesel
part number FCONN6251A PM me if I can help

I am not a Ford expert. But I think a 192
is a 172 without sleeves. Google. Effingham
camshaft regrinders. Effingham Il. He will
grind a newer profile if you want.

My problem is, that the PO messed up the key way in mine, so I can not have it fixed. I've called cam grinders and they tell me they don't fix key ways any more, and to fix the key way & regrind it, would cost more then to buy a new cam. Problem. Ford used the same pn# 310377 on both the gas, and the diesel engines, until '65, when he made both cams the same. Before that the are the same grind, except! the diesel timing was held to a exact timing. Because you can move a dist to anywhere you need it, to be right, but you can not with a injector pump.

All cams that are for sale with the factory part #, say "Not for a diesel" They don't grind them to the diesel spec's, only to the gas, which is to loose.

Which is what's wrong with my cam, the key slot is bad, which makes it 23 degs off, plus there is one lobe wore enough to have to replace, or regrind it.

Thanks, Pat

So you just need to degree the gas cam. Not
hard to do with a dial indicator and a 360
deg disk for the crank shaft. You can get
ofset keys. Should be same as a Ford car.