muleman51

I'm getting more frustrated everyday. I have been farming and working for 50 years. I still work full time have planned on retiring at 70 next May. I am now in self lock down because of a workplace exposure, still a week to go. Being just a small farmer (200 acres) I just can't justify a better tractor, new improved planter, a better no till drill, etc,etc. If I rebuild a combine or corn head you can't begin to get your money out of it. I was told by a salesman who was very truethful and not being smart that unless you are farming at least 1000 acres you can't justify new tech products, I believe him to be correct just don't want it to be true. I have a few head of cattle, should pour concrete but that makes no sense. I guess I'm just venting, but am I missing something.

I think you can "afford" better equipment if you have a full time job and that equipment allows you to farm more efficiently and the deductions help on income tax brackets.

you are in the reality of things. i make do with my antiques also. was pretty cold out there on the 660 with no cab this fall. least the 850 massey combine has a cab. lol. and i can fix my stuff!

Yup.

I totally understand.

My wish is grain drying/ storage. Just not enough years left to make it pay, not having it costs me. Grumble grumble. Anything I build for my small farm would be too small for the next operation, so would depreciate down too fast.

Can’t win.

Paul

What kind of operations are around you?
I'm in the same situation and made some hay and rented out the rest of the ground. A nearby mega dairy started buying my hay standing. That worked out well enough that I planted the rest of the farm to grass. Can you plant and a big operator buys standing crop?

I am no farmer. But I have seen too many around the county. With a service truck next to them. Seems like it would be better to fix what you have.