Locating old JD parts?

csparks

New User
Hello,
I remembered this forum from some previous searches I've done for neighbors, now I need help. Was unsure where to post, so started here.

I have an older JD 850. Its an early 80s, 25 HP 3 cyl diesel. Tried to post link from TractorData, but it seems to be flagged.

Was having an issue with the steering. After tearing it down with lots of help from neighbor, it appears water had got into the steering column, and has ruined the seals, bushings, and bearings/races.
I do have a repair manual that I've downloaded that has good diagrams, and some info on bushings and seal part numbers, but not bearings.

I'm not a good mechanic and fumble with terminology. This all seems like it could be fixed if we could locate these parts mentioned, but I can't imagine how to locate such small, specific things. I thought it might be easier to locate the entire steering "pedestal" from a salvage.

So, my questions are:
Should I seek help in the JD forum here?
Any tips on locating JD salvage? All States Ag seem to have a big presence online.

Thanks for your patience.

If the gears and such are good, and all you need is bearings and seals, it's probably still all available from DEERE.

John Deere has parts lookup "on-line".

Go to the link below, with serial number at hand.
DEERE parts lookup

From viewing JD parts it appears some steering gear box brgs are still available but check application for your specific tractor. CH11171 bearing $21.58

(quoted from post at 14:04:11 07/08/19)

If the gears and such are good, and all you need is bearings and seals, it's probably still all available from DEERE.

John Deere has parts lookup "on-line".

Go to the link below, with serial number at hand.
DEERE parts lookup

Well, this is second hand, but my neighbor had asked at the local Deere place and was told that on a tractor that old they'd be unlikely to find any parts. Will have to explore that more.

(quoted from post at 14:14:54 07/08/19)