lube and gasket question

souNdguy

2 questions.

1st, someone please detail exactly where my drains and fill and check points are on this machine. i'm a ford guy.. this is probably the first C my but has been on.

I found the crankcase oil fill, and figured out the 2 lil check knobs, and assume I'll find a drain on the pan..

in the op platform front left I see an inverted head plug

on the back right side of the housing the pto shaft sticks out and to the side of where a belt pulley would be I see a plug.. perhaps a level check plug.

those are the only one's I've id'd so far.. so please fill in my gaps and correct my assumptions.

also, is the trans and diffy common sump?

oh.. I think I found the fill ont he hyds unit.. no level or drain.

front pedistal.. need the same info.

I see a large cap on the front end.. is this a sector cover? need drain and fill.

pictures will help :) I'm new at this red stuff ( ok.. I have a cub.. but that don't count.. she's plenty different than this one.. :) )

2nd question. I know I need to leave the timing cover loose when reinstalling a crank pulley so the cover can pilot on the pulley seal surface, then take the cover down. I'm not at this point yet, still waiting for parts and gaskets and seals.. but want to get my head straight.

I've been told that the gasket alone will likely let her leak. I know on olf fords.. we do alot of stuff with dry gaskets and no gasket sealer / cement or rtv.

however I've had at least 3 people email me and tell me to use non hardening permatex #2 or similar, apply to the cover, stick the gasket to the cover, then apply more #2 permatex to the front of the block.. grease the seal lip.. yada yada.. pilot it on the crank, then take the cover down witht e gasket sandwiched between the smear of permatex on the cover and the block. ot a 'bead' but a thin smear around.

this sound correct? or?

reason I ask is I don't want to fix a seal leak and cause a gasket leak.. :)

thanks

soundguy