manifold advice

Long story/history. Farmall M tractor, bought in 1984. When I bought the tractor the exhaust pipe was welded poorly to the manifold. Through the years I just left it alone. Three years ago I bumped a tree limb gently but it broke the weld. I worked on the threads diligently and got them to accept a new pipe nipple. I epoxied the pipe nipple in using JB Weld extreme heat for pipe dope. It has held for three years but is now loose again. I am sure the threads will still be somewhat good but not like new of course. Is there a better epoxy product that someone has knowledge of that will work under heat?

I am a welder by trade and have experience with cast iron and nickel rods. Would you just weld it back in again? I am a little worried about getting a crack in the old cast manifold.

The other option of course is to buy a new manifold. I really don't want to do that because of breaking off a manifold bolt or not getting it torqued back correctly. I am not a good mechanic.

Thanks, Ellis

first of all did you tighten it good with at least a 24 inch pipe wrench. i use a 36 once tight but got to take care not to break the manifold. if all the threads were clean and it was screwed in to most of the nipple threads it should hold. i use never seize or copper coat on the threads be it right or wrong. so with out seeing it i am not sure what's best. i would run a tap on the manifold and use another new nipple, not the thin ones but one with some meat to it. i have used some really thick ones too like schedule 80. thicker will hold up better, but u loose a bit of inside diameter.

I don’t think much of those muffler menders. Last about a month in best application. How about braze ? You got oxy/acetylene touch , pre heat casting area , they will crack if you don’t.