NAA problems

MSUSparty

New User
I wasn't getting a charge out of the generator on my NAA and the battery was bad. So, I thought it would be a good time to do a 12V conversion, since I had to replace the battery and address the charging issue anyways. I did the conversion this past winter and the tractor fired right up in the shop and seemed to run good, though I only ran it briefly (indoors). Last week I pulled it out and started using it and it ran great!... for 2 hours. Then it began to sputter... then backfire... then wouldn't run/start at all. I cleaned the points and plugs and checked the gaps. It started but sputters a lot. I've double checked all the connections, thinking that maybe I failed to tighten something down and it loosened up. It seems to have good spark at the distributor. Although I am definitely not a mechanic, I have been using this tractor for 30+ years and feel fairly comfortable adjusting the points, so I don't feel like that is the problem.

I find it strange that it ran so well for a couple hours, then went from running well to not running at all so quickly.

Thoughts/ideas? Did I do something wrong on the conversion?

Thanks