Speaking of "Stick Shift"

Brian G. NY

I have a 4 speed tranny which came out of an early Falcon EconoLine van; '64 I think
This woukd have been a "4 on the tree".

Unfortunately, I do not have any of the shifting linkage but I can imagine it must have been at least a little complicated. LOL

When I was stationed in Germany in the 60s, my section chief had a car with a 4 on the tree. It wasn't too bad to catch on to. I can't for the life of me remember the make of that car.

I owned a Saab 96 and a 89 Monte Carlo, 2 stroke 3 cylinder. $ on the tree was common. If the Econoline had 3 on the tree, hook it up the the shifter for forward speeds, and
a pull knob for R on the floor. Jim

It was a dagenham four speed. I have a seen a Falcon and Mustang with them. Not meant for a lot of horse power. Dad had an old
Mercedes with four on the tree.
Ron

Yep, when I graduated highschool in 1980 I
started to work with a mechanical
contractor. I was introduced to a three on
the tree in a Ford Econoline van.
I never drove one before with the shifter on the steering column.

Years ago one of my sisters had a Fiat with a 4 speed column shift. She was the only one who could find reverse. My late neighbor had a Mercedes with a 4 speed column shift. He was surprised when I found reverse without being how to do it.

Rare transmission. Friend put one in his van. Had to
fabricate some of the linkage.

Vito

rove an old IH cabover years ago with 10 on the tree....5 speed with a push
button toggle on the gearshift for the rear axle. That one you shifted
carefully.

Ben