Super A Cultivator Set Up Help!

ColoradoNic

New User
Hello Y"all,

I am a vegetable farmer located in Northern Colorado and I bought a beautifully restored Super A for the farm a couple years ago. I am just getting around to trying to get it back into work besides looking pretty. It currently does not have any cultivator set up on it or mounting frames.

My goals for the tractor are to cultivate three row beds of crops with rows 18" apart. Due to our type of weeds here I will need to use sweeps and knives but hope to get to basket weeder when we get the perennial weed pressure down.

Questions are:
-I have found a universal mounting frame and rear set up with tool bars for about $600 in PA.
I noticed that pics of this show that is basically only set up for one row, can you mount a bar across the entire bottom so that you can put sweeps anywhere on the bed?

-is a square toolbar the only choice?

-The dealer mentions that he can either sell it with C springs or spring trip shanks. Do you need to buy these antique to work or can you find new?

-are the spring trip shanks essential? or only if in rocky soil?

-can you use modern clamps for the toolbar to put various tools on the tool bar or do you have to have the old ones?

any other insight and advice would be much appreciated! I hope to get her working this year in the fields.

Cheers,
Nic

Ft. Collins, CO

If you use the factory cultivator setup on the super A, it is a one row cultivator, usual row spacing to use that is around 30 inches. I have not seen Super A's with anything other than the one row setup. That is not to say that you can't design something else.
Good luck.

I went through about the same thing you are, 3 years ago, only with a cub.

First off, you can find cultivators closer to you that PA. It will cost a fortune to have them shipped that far. I found a set in Oregon and paid $500. They are out there, you just have to look.