update on cemetery mowing

First of all, I want to thank everyone for the repsonses that they posted to my question! It was all extremely helpful, and I have decided to look elsewhere for some extra cash this summer, since the whole ordeal just sounds a lot more complex than I would want. I am going to see about getting a few normal properties to mow this season instead, since this is something that I already have experience with. Thanks again!

Good decision. I mowed a large cemetery, probably 8 acres or so around the time I graduated from high school in the mid 1970's. The weather can really be a challenge, and I imagine the lot owners today can be way more demanding than they were 50 years ago. I am now a trustee of a smaller cemetery where I live. We had one lady call to complain that the corn leaves from the farmer's field next door were blowing into the lots one fall -she wanted to know when he was going to stop and clean them up. (and he is also a trustee! - we got a good laugh from that one)

Tim

It sounded good, but then again, I would of thought there would be few complaints from the residents.

Just to add to the conversation- years ago I helped mow an 80 acre cemetery. The cemetery owned several Scag mowers, 3 of them were used constantly. When finished on one end it was time to start over at the other.

I usually don't ask anyone thier opinion on what I should charge for a job.... Value of time and money is different for everyone. Lol

No complaints from the residents BUT the families can sometimes be a real PITA if you happen to mow some of the flowers they have planted or their artificial flowers are removed, even if they are completely faded out. I tried that one year just to help our township trustees out. That was my first and last. Glad you decided against the mowing job.