Veterans assistance programs (long)

Farmall43

I am looking at buying, well trying to buy, 80 acres down the road from me. I have an idea of splitting it into 4 20 acre pastures that are about 85% grass on muck and 15% woods. I think the price is reasonable, $160,000. I believe it could be bought for less. I believe that this property would be an ideal location for a beef herd with a little work. I.E. dig a couple ditches to help it drain better and a stock pond in each pasture. I know that beef is not where it was a few month or a year ago, however, I believe that there is enough left to pay for itself over time and with hard work. I am a Veteran and disabled, according to the VA, multiple deployments. I am wondering if any of you out there know of any assistance programs are out there to help with buying the land, fencing, property improvements and buying a herd. I am in Michigan. About 25 miles south of Lansing in Ingham county.

I appreciate any insight and suggestions that you all may have. I know that there is a lot of knowledge and experience on this website. If you think it is not feasible to start up from scratch and make a go of it please say so and tell me why it is not practical. If you think it is feasible the same. I am in year 2 of getting back to farming. I am at about 80 acres of leased ground and will continue to grow as I can find land and upgrade equipment. I have always wanted to farm. I grew up working on farms and helping my grandfather before he retired and leased his ground out. All I have ever wanted is to work the land and to work with animals. I have, I think, the opportunity to start doing so. The Army is forcing me to retire. Some BS about not being deployable any longer due to chronic knee and shoulder issues along with a couple other things. So here I set, hoping, wondering if I may be able to make a go of following my childhood, teenage and adult dream of making an attempt at farming full time.