Cold weather trans-hyd oil 4000 SOS

Ringy

Can I use Universal trans-hyd oil in my 4000 with SOS in the winter and switch back to 134d in warmer weather? I think I read somewhere a while ago that UT-H is 20-30 wt and 134d is 40-50 weight.Is that correct? Is 20-30 wt. heavy enough? My loader is almost unusable now with mc241 (I believe 80-90 wt).

(quoted from post at 22:56:56 01/02/11) Can I use Universal trans-hyd oil in my 4000 with SOS in the winter and switch back to 134d in warmer weather? I think I read somewhere a while ago that UT-H is 20-30 wt and 134d is 40-50 weight.Is that correct? Is 20-30 wt. heavy enough? My loader is almost unusable now with mc241 (I believe 80-90 wt).

Ringy,

I'm not an expert, but from my time on this site, I would stick with the 134d or equal spec. oil. I think it is actually closer to 20-30 wt. I use the 134d equivalent in my 971 and hyds as well and everything operated pretty well this weekend, about 20 degrees here yesterday.

What temps are you fighting? If nothing else, let it run and warm up some, [color=red:4703df397e]if the hydraulic pump is in decent shape[/color:4703df397e], the 134d should work fine.

Chris

Well, today was about 0. Seems most days That I use it the temp is 10 or colder. In the summer it is never a problem. It takes over an hour of idling with the pto running just to warm it up.

134d is all I use year round. It was -2 today and I had to dump manure. Fired it up let it warm for 15 min and went to work. no problem with anything at all. I have used it year round for as long as I can remember. LarryT

M2C-41 is not 80 weight stuff. It is the original spec for the SOS and is more akin to ATF than it is to 80-90.