Wazmer

New User
I recently picked up a Deutz 8006. Had been sitting a while and seems pretty worn but runs good. It puts out quite a bit of smoke, however. I am relatively new to Deutz and old tractors in general, but I really like the design of this one. Its kind of fun to work on. I changed the oil, the air cooling area was full of crap, air filter bad and a lot of crap in the intake. I pulled the fuel tank and am getting it lined. I am wondering if anyone here has experience and if itd be worth it to do a partial rebuild while I have it apart. Id also like to replace the muffler with a straight pipe, it has a cracked weld and I suspect it is very dirty as well. It also is not tall enough to keep fumes out of your face. If anyone can suggest a good place to buy air filters and/or straight pipe exhaust, Id appreciate it.

I worked on a number of 912 series engines back when they were legal to operate. They're a bit unconventional in design, but overall a darn good motor in
my opinion. I was told back then (with proper maintenance) the expected life of the top end was good for ten thousand hours, the bottom end good for twenty
thousand. I don't know how accurate that was but I never saw a bottom end failure. Top end failures were almost always the result of neglect somewhere.
I recall doing a number of top end overhauls back then and all were a result of neglect.

If you're serious about going into it, I'd be happy to discuss it with you and maybe explain some of the tricks and special tools involved.

Thatd be great. I am moving forward with getting it to optimal mechanical condition assuming it doesnt cost a fortune. Id love to discuss it and I can send pictures etc.

I don't know what happened but it seems the Email box (mine was always open) has somehow been changed to no Email. I'd like to open that back up if I
can figure out how to do it. I will work on that.