Hello...and help please.....

MastPoint

New User
New to the site so I'll start with a hello. I've been cruising the site for a while but decided I finally need to dive in and ask a question.

I'm new to tractors, well to owning one. Last fall I bought a '74 JD1530 with a 145 loader from a friends mother who was retiring to the south. Her husband who had passed was the original owner but it had been loaned to a daughter and son-in-law for a few years after the he passed and they did a pretty good job of beating up and neglecting just about everything on it. However, I received the original owners manual, service manual, loader manual and got to work on swapping every filter, every fluid, draining the rear tires, welding up the holes in the rim, putting in new tunes and mounting the tires (nearly killed me), putting on new tie rods, putting on some LED lighting (all original lighting was gone), and generally correcting issues.

Today however I met my match and in a spot I didn't expect. Along with the tractor I received a hydraulic cylinder that came from somewhere along the way. It had one hose on it with a male plug and the other hole capped. I was curious if I could get the cylinder working and build a tree shear so I bought a second hose of plug and thought I'd hook it up the the Breakaway remote on the rear of the tractor and see if the ram would move in and out. Try as I might I couldn't figure out how to connect it. I pushed and pushed, I lowered everything to the ground to try and relieve and pressure in the system....I couldn't tell for sure if the plug style was correct for the sockets on the coupler but the plugs are the style called out for in the manual (I'm pretty sure). But the manual just says the breakaway coupler is used to secure and release an implement....it doesn't actually tell you how to connect it other than plug it in and turn the lever 90 degrees to allow oil to flow.