Help a po boy out . Please !

Graham626

New User
While pulling a disk with my dad"s 1940 9N he purchased about 4 years ago, the engine went into to turbo mode. Quickly turned the key off and found the linkage from the govenor to carb off. Put it back and made a couple more rounds, same thing. Picked up a new linkage and it did it again, except this time the linkage was still on. Now it wouldn"t start. Found distributor not turning, no spark. Looooong story short, found teeth on pressed on timing gear damaged. Had to replace with bolt on gear and different cam shaft. Govenor never did seem to work right when pulling a load, so took it apart and found shaft broken. Suspect this was the start of all the problem. Picked up a nice used govenor and installed it with new plugs, wires, cap, button, points, & gaskets. Cleaned out the inch or so of sludge from the oil canaster, drained the black 30 year old oil, new filter, and grabbed some 5w30 off the shelf.

BTW, I am by no means a mechanic. I can read, turn a wrench and it was either try to repair or junk it. I didn"t feel it was worth, and couldn"t afford, spending a bunch of money on it. I did buy the IT manual, but thanks to this forum and all the post and replies, I made it through the repair. Cranked the engine a couple of times for about 5 seconds to get some oil flowing, turned the key on, and first pull of the choke, she started. Smoked, till the oil burned off I had squirted on top of the pistons and valves. Missed a little, then leveled off and was purring like a kitten. Nice oil pressure, about 3/4 the way on the unmarked scale, right where it had always been. I was so happy and couldn"t wait to get back in the saddle again. Took her for a spin around the lot, then down and back up a little hill to see if the govenor was working. It was working good. Finished bolting down the hood and installing the grill. Went to move the disk out of the field where she had broken down. Dropped it and headed back to the house