John Deere H Governor

Lieu

I recently restore a 1940 John Deere H. Late last year, I had it running real good so I decided it was time to take it apart and paint it. Now that I have the nice paint job on it and it is reassembled, it seems the governor is not working properly. The throttle is really sensitive and the least movement allows the engine to accelerate rapidly.

I am not a trained mechanic, but I got to thinking today, why would it run so good before I painted it, and now it runs too fast and the throttle is too sensitive. I took all the parts I could off to paint. Part #AH617R - Arm that comes out of the top of the governor case; I failed to get it off for the final paint coat so I painted it attached. However, thinking back, when I tried to pull it off, the shaft came out of the case about 1" or so. I turned it slightly and it went back down in the governor case. Is it possible that I didn't get it turned to the right position? How would one determine this and how would I fix it without having to take my nicely painted hood off (if possible). One other thing I have noticed, the foot throttle worked fine before I tore it down to paint it, now it bottoms out before moving the governor arm far enough to open up the throttle. Is this further evidence the arm is in the wrong position?

I appreciate feedback, thank you.