Need Process to Prep Parts for Storage before Paint

IowaAndy

New User
So, I've lurked and read a hundred posts on painting and parts prep. Lots of great ideas, but to follow some of the best practices for each stage is not only slow, it would take forever to get the tractor painted!

So, here's the list of steps I'm taking:

1. Electrolysis bath to remove paint, rust, grease. (this works GREAT!! As an engineer I love using science to do the grunt work)

2. Wash parts with fresh water while scrubbing with scotch brite pad (in the yard)

3. Spray down with rattle can degreaser (brake cleaner)

4. Wipe down part with clean shop rag (Scott's Rags)

5. Rattle can etching primer on paintable surfaces

6. After 15 minutes, WD-40 on non paintable surfaces (inside of valve cover ,for instance).

7. Store part on shelf until time for final paint (up to 6 months)

8. Pull parts for paint day

9. Degrease parts with rattle can degreaser to remove WD40 overspray

10. Scotch brite parts for sealing primer

11. Spray sealing primer, 2 coats

12. 320 grit after primer sets

13. Enamel with harder topcoat (2-3 coats)

14. Allow parts to cure 48 hours inside before much handling

15. Assemble on tractor

Ok, so here's the issue. I work a day job, and can clean up 2-4 parts after the kids are in bed. Not realistic to set up the gun to spray primer for 2 parts, then do cleanup. I need to batch parts to a point where I have a full Saturday of paint work. So, are there other processes I can use to get the results I want?

My key issue is that I need to stabilize parts after the soda bath to keep them from rusting. I'm in central Iowa, 60% humidity is the norm. Parts out of the bath start rusting within 60 minutes.

Posters on here are very critical of rattle cans for any paint work. What's the best alternative (if spray gun isn't an option) while I'm slowly cleaning up parts? I'm open to alternatives.