Dusty MI

It used to be that one pipe dope was used for everything, Now it comes in different colors, each color for what was the pipe is going to be used for. Why? Does it really matter?

Dusty

Only matters if it leaks.

I agree that we used to be able to use one type but I recently installed a generator at my house and the gas company guy swore by Rectorseal #5 when he installed an upgraded meter. I figure he does this for a living and he must know what works.

I ran about 50 feet of black iron pipe that I cut and threaded myself and had zero leaks using this sealant. Being a machinist back in the day running a pipe threader is pretty straight forward but I had some minor tearing on some of the sections that had me concerned. These were pieces that I bought pre-threaded and had to cut down to fit so I figured there was something different in the material chemistry as opposed to the 22' long full sections that I got from the local mill supply. With some angst I doped the ragged pieces up and reefed them down and happily no leaks.

Take a look at the Rectorseal website.
Rectorseal website

I replaced a line from an LP tank and bought the line from plumbing supply. I knew Teflon tape is a NoNo for natural gas but wasn't sure about LP. The guy gave me Blue Monster, a PTFE based paste. The label says it's good for just about everything except oxygen.

Didn't know that,but guessing it's like PVC pipe. Dad ran a piece of white PVC in a cement slab to run electrical wire through. The inspector condemned it,told him he had to use gray PVC to run electrical wiring.

Teflon tape is fine for natural gas or propane. Like anything else you just have to use the correct one which happens to be yellow.