Tractor Buying Time

EEKA8N

New User
Hello all,

I currently have an 8n I am getting up and running after sitting for two years. Now, I intend, if it doesn't cost too much to get running, to use it with a box blade and rake. But, I need to purchase a tractor with a FEL. I am new to all this and with so many choices I am hoping for guidance. I am not looking to spend a lot of money nor looking at financing a new rig. I am hoping to buy a tractor for grading and moving dirt. I see many models without attachments. So, I am not learned on buying these separately. Especially an FEL. I am not looking for new as I certainly will be using it heavily. It is not my intent to keep it for a long duration. I want to get what I need done and then resell to recoup my expense.

I've been reading that 4wd and power steering is a must. I am concerned with needing the power to load heavy black dirt and move it. I am reading live pto is essential as well. My ground is level as I am on the Carolina coast and at times we can get large amounts of rain. So for that reason I probably need 4wd. Will MFWD do the same? I have an acre of land to maintain. I am looking at some point to redo my drain field. When the soil is wet it easy to scoop. I am thinking a backhoe may not be necessary. But, like I said I am here for advice.

It makes no difference if the tractor is 50 years old as long as it is dependable and gets the job done. Newest tractors are out of my price range as I would like to put that expense to work on my home.

Thanks friends for your time.

Hire a local dirt contractor to do it. Write up a scope(what all is to be done) and seeks bids for doing the work. An older tractor with a fel may be easy to find and buy, but hard to resell or it could be a maintenance nightmare. Delaying your completion and sucking more money out of your wallet. just a suggestion gobble