Best hand Cleaner

Fergienewbee

I had to change sprockets in my planter yesterday. Kind of greasy. I'm not a mechanic or whimp, but what is the best hand cleaner, either dry or soap? I used gas, but even after washing once or twice with soap, dish soap actually, it didn't get all the grime off.

Larry

I use GOOP brand w/pumice. You can buy it in smaller squirt bottles at just about any auto parts or farm store. Or if you're at the point of just needing to get the grease out of the cracks in your hands just pick up some Lava brand bar soap at the grocer. Get a finger nail/hand brush too, if you're real picky. A lot of fols use gas, but I have a problem with it drying and cracking my fingers, and then I have another problem.

Geoff Williams

I'm a heavy equip mechanic and when I get that heavy black grease on my hands, believe it or not, ATF or WD-40. Wet your hands well and rub the grease right out. Follow up with your usual hand soap, done.
HTH, Jf

Believe it or not, but, the best thing to clean up dirty petroleum products is to use the same product, but new and clean. Dirty motor oil cleans up with new motor oil, then soap. Road tar on the side of a vehicle cleans up with fresh motor oil.

I also like Goop. It works fine for cleaning greasy hands, and it doesn"t make my hands get dry and itchy like the citrus products do. Goop also works good to get grease spots out of clothing--just rub it into the greasy spot and wash normally.

When I was a dumb kid, we often washed parts in gasoline to get the grease and grime off. In doing so I suppose I always got gas on my hands. Luckily, it never caught fire for me, but a guy I knew got badly burned that way. I would never suggest using gasoline for parts or hand cleaning!

Diesel works for hand cleaning, but it smells bad and keeps smelling bad for days. Motor oil works pretty well, but you still have to wash your hands with soap afterward.