Ford 841 Runs rough & cuts off

LReed

New User
OK, I am pulling out what little bit of hair I have left, so any suggestions will be appreciated.

I have a 1962 841 Powermaster, gas, that has run a little rich as long as I've owned it, but it ran fine otherwise. The last time I used the tractor, I barely made it back to the barn because it started running rough, cutting out. Playing with the throttle I was able to limp it back. Now it will crank, but idles very rough, if you try to give it gas, it cuts off. It will crank right back every time. I've got good spark, clean breather, fresh gas, & pulled & cleaned the carburetor. I don't want to just throw parts at it until it runs, I want to figure it out & fix it. I was certain it was a fuel issue, but now not sure. Ideas?

Quick test... Remove air filter hose at carb... Using an old spray bottle, spray some good gas into the carb throat. Try to start. If it fires for a bit, you
have a fuel supply issue. With some care, you will likely be able to actually keep it running by spraying into the carb, while running. Sometimes just doing
this will actually solve a partially blocked carb fuel circuit. After running like this, if it still does not want to run on it's own, check for good fuel flow
coming into carb, by loosening fuel line. If you are getting good flow from the tank, then time to look at the carb. Before tearing it apart, I would try
opening and closing the fuel air mixture needles a few times. (Be careful to open and close them the same amount, returning them to where they started.) This can
help dislodge some small debris.

Did you do a fuel flow test to see if the fuel system is clear? Remove the fuel line from the carb or if it has a plug on the bottom of the carb remove it. Then open the fuel and see how long to fill a pint.