Bayer has loss big bucks in court since buying Monsanto because of glyphosate.

Bayer has said it will take round up off the residential market and will only sell glyphosate to licensed people in the near future.

My question is what does this do to the generic glyphosate market??
I wonder how many used generic glyphosate and then turned around and got compensated by bayer.

John,
I'm no lawyer.
I think Bayer made claims that weren't true.
The Supreme court ruled against Bayer.
The patient on roundup has expired so anyone can make it and sell it..
Again I'm no lawyer.
The court decision didn't ban roundup.
As long as they don't claim generic roundup is safe, then
not a problem making it and selling it.
I just bought a gallon of 41% generic roundup at Rural King.
Yesterday I saw Walmart selling premixed roundup..I think??

I'm not sure Bayer has the authority to make it a restricted use pesticide, I'm leaning toward believing that only the EPA can do that, but if Bayer can, and they do, I applaud them. Some of the questions I see on these forums have me convinced that a whole bunch of folks in this world shouldn't be allowed to buy a can of fly spray, much less buy and use agricultural chemicals.

(quoted from post at 08:19:59 07/06/22) I'm not sure Bayer has the authority to make it a restricted use pesticide, I'm leaning toward believing that only the EPA can do that, but if Bayer can, and they do, I applaud them. Some of the questions I see on these forums have me convinced that a whole bunch of folks in this world shouldn't be allowed to buy a can of fly spray, much less buy and use agricultural chemicals.

Yep!

The patent or copyright is long expired for glyphosate. Bayer is one of many manufacturers that now make that product. If Bayer chooses to limit its sales in an effort to limit its liabilities, that is their choice to make. The other manufacturers may or may not choose to make up the difference or follow suit.